High Society fails to raise me


Upon reflection taking the girls to the Wellcome Trust’s High Society exhibition about how –

“drugs were first discovered – from apothecaries’ workshops to state-of-the-art laboratories – and how they came to be simultaneously fetishised and demonised in today’s culture”

– was always a bit overambitious.  They were already tired after a morning visit to beautiful Erith to buy a new shower; that the Lovely Melanie wasn’t with us to help manage them (being in St Albans for a baby shower) should have set further alarm bells ringing…but somehow didn’t.

Our friends Mike and Inge were there, but my kids are not their responsibility, so it was perhaps inevitable that after about four minutes of the girls running amok in the exhibition a curator ventured the opinion – nicely but firmly – that perhaps I should take the girls outside.  The girls were having a whale of a time, but the place was full of a lot of po-faced hipsters, so I could see the curator’s point.

Amber particularly was in one of her defiant not-scared-of-anything moods and kept running away and disappearing.  Millie was simply tired and hence a bit inclined to throw her hands in the air at the smallest provocation.  It wasn’t a good mix.

Mike and Inge had a good look round the exhibition while I herded the girls around outside in the lobby, and Inge was then generous enough to take Millie in to see the exhibition while I stayed outside with Mike – who found Amber’s antics hilarious.  I could see that they had a funny side but was rather too tired and familiar with them to really appreciate it.

I love my girls, but was today sorely tempted to put dog leads on them…

And finally: can I recommend the High Society exhibition?

Answer: I don’t know, I still haven’t seen it.  You’re better off asking Millie – she has seen it.

Leave a Reply

