“What can I do for you?”


It’s bitterly cold out, the Lovely Melanie is off work with a very nasty case of flu and I’m in charge of stuff.  So, as if to demonstrate why I should not ever be in charge of stuff, I had a surprise doctor’s appointment this morning.

The first I knew of it was when, whilst taking Millie to school, my ‘phone went “Ding!” and reminded me “Doctor’s appointment, 9.00-9.30am”.  I stopped and looked at it for a bit, racking my brain to remember what might be wrong with me (“Alzheimer’s?”).  Nothing came to mind so I had to sheepishly ask the GP receptionist, “Er…do I have an appointment here today?”

“Mr Carter? Yes, 9am.”

“Ahh, good,” I said, “What a relief,” and sat down.

All was going fine until the doctor called me in.

“Now, what can I do for you today, Mr Carter?” he smiled.

“Um, I was rather hoping you could tell me, to be honest.  It could be a diabetic check-up.  Or making sure I’m OK on the anti-depressants…?”

The doctor continued to smile benevolently.

“I have had this wretched cold for over a fortnight now,” I ventured hopefully.

“Ahh! Really?  A fortnight?  That’s not good!  That’s not good at all!  What colour is your phlegm?”

“Green.  Bright green.”

He pursed his lips “Oh, dear me, we’d better do something about that, then.  Two weeks, you say…?”

So, my appointment was saved; I wasn’t a senile time-waster, and came out with a prescription for some antibiotics.

And the moral of this story is: when you reach 40 years of age always add appointments to your Google calendar and always add a little extra detail to the description – just in case. 😉

One comment

  1. ha ha .. I often leave notes for myself in my diary to go places or ring someone, and then have no idea why. I have begun to be a little more explicit in my notes to myself. And I’m eight years behind you – no hope.

Leave a Reply

