Liberal nightmare


At the doctor’s surgery this morning – Millie has sat down to read a book while I talk to the receptionist about… well, never mind – nothing terribly interesting.  Having finished, I walk round the corner of the waiting room to get Millie.

ME: OK, ‘Lays, time to go.

MILLIE: It’s Bob Marley!

ME: What?

MILLIE: It’s Bob Marley!

ME: (thinking: is there a black guy in the waiting room? Please, don’t let there be a black guy in the waiting room…) Um, where is Bob Marley?

MILLIE: On the radio. It’s Bob Marley.

ME: (pausing to confirm that, yes, Three Little Birds is indeed playing on the radio) Oh…yes, so it is.  Well spotted, little one.  (Sighs with relief)

2 thoughts on “Liberal nightmare

  1. Jim Clark April 16, 2012 / 9:21 pm

    Nice! That is very funny. Today I over heard someone at work say, “Wish me luck! I’m going to interview an African American.” It was so awkward to hear that I shut my door and just giggled for about twelve minutes straight. I do so love those little awkward moments in life.

  2. Graham Carter April 16, 2012 / 9:47 pm

    Reminds me of trips to the doctor’s with Nan in her later years, when she would comment on each patient’s weight and/or skin colour as they arrived, at a volume loud enough for everybody to hear.

Leave a Reply

