Do the dance


Children – they’ll always surprise you.

I came home from work yesterday to find Millie still up (although just about to go to bed).  I had my headphones on and was listening  Bleep: A Guide to Electronic Music  which I’d just bought – 55 tracks for 15 quid, you can’t go wrong! – covering the  development of electronic music over the past 80 years.  The first 40 years are mostly quite hard going, frankly; mostly of interest as history rather than music – if I never hear an example of musique concrete again I won’t be too sad!

Some of the later stuff then gets interesting (and melodic) and by the 70s there’s a lot of familiar tunes in there (although, not all of the songs are familiar – I could’ve sworn Love Reaction by Divine was Blue Monday by New Order!).  Then the 80s and 90s is very dancey, but only sporadically interesting.

Like I say, for £15 you can’t really go far wrong, but 55 tracks is a LOT of music!

Anyway, where was I?  Ahh, yes, Millie was still up.  She came and gave me a hug and asked to hear what I was listening to on my headphones (Millie loves headphones, remember).  So I put them on her head and waited to see her face as she jumped right into the middle of  Go Bang by Dinosaur L (an Arthur Russell side project, apparently).

But – as I said – children, they’ll always surprise you.

Millie closed her eyes and did a funky little dance for a minute or so, until the Lovely Melanie took the headphones off her, saying “Bed time”.

She’s got her father’s groove, that one. 😉

Leave a Reply

