Morning is broken


In our house, the girls are allowed to get up and generally be awake from 6.30 in the morning.  Before that sacred time they must stay in their rooms, preferably in bed.

What this usually means is that Millie, who has a clock and can recognise 6-dot-3, is often up at 6.30.01am.  Amber can be more unpredictable, but her body clock is remarkably accurate.

Hence, at 6:30 this morning, there came the usual little voice outside my bedroom door (remember, the Lovely Melanie leaves for work at 5am) with its traditional question: “Can I come in for a cuddle.”

To which I gave the traditional reply: “If you’re quiet, yes.”

Which was followed by the traditional response from the other child, ” Can I come in for a cuddle?”.

Scamper scamper, boing boing, then all is still.

Ten seconds later, one child asks “Can I play on your telephone?”

“No, it’s 6.30 in the morning.”

Other child asks, “Can play on your telephone?”

“I just said no – it’s 6.30 in the morning – I haven’t changed my mind in the last three seconds.”

All is quiet once again.

One child (probably Amber) giggles.

Other child (probably Millie) says: “Stop kicking me!”

“Stop kicking each other or you’ll have to go back to your rooms.”

“It wasn’t me, it was her!”

“I don’t care who it was, stop kicking each other. It’s sleepy time.”

One child (probably Millie) snuggles up to me.  I put my arm across to cuddle the other child, too.

Other child carefully removes my arm.  I put it back.  Other child carefully but firmly removes it again.

Snuggling child headbutts my nose.

“Ow.”

“Sorry!”

“Could you be a bit more careful, please?”

“OK.”

Other child asks “What’s happening?”

“I just got headbutted in the nose.”

Other child kicks the covers off herself, and us.

“Do you mind?  If you’re not going to sit still you’ll have to get out.  It’s still sleepy time.”

“How long is it till breakfast?”

“About 15 minutes.”

“Can I play on your phone?”

“No.”

“What’s the weather like?”

“Cold.  Now, be quiet.”

“Is that what it says on your phone?”

“Yes, now be quiet.”

Someone tickles my hand.

“Dids?”

“Yes.”

“I’m tickling your hand.”

“I know.  Could you stop, please?”

“Dids?”

“Yes.”

“How long till breakfast time?”

“About 14 minutes.”

“Can I play on your phone?”

“Look, if you can’t be quiet can you please go back to your room.  You can read or play quietly in there.  Otherwise, be quiet.”

“I’ll be quiet.”

“Good.”

Snuggling child slips in the gap between the pillows.

“Aaahhh!  I’m stuck!”

I plump the pillows up. “No, you’re not.”

“Guess what I’m doing today, Dids,” whispers other child.

“Mmm,” I mutter.

“Dids!  Guess what I’m doing today!”

“Sleeping?” I hazard.

“No.”

“I give up.”

“Er, I forgot.”

Snuggling child’s patience gives out.  “Shut up!”

“Don’t tell your sister to shut up.”

“But she won’t stop talking!”

“Can we all just be quiet for the next twelve minutes, please?”

“Is that when it’s breakfast time?”

“Be quiet.”

“Millie?”

“Yeah?”

“Do you want to come and play in my room?”

“No.”

“Yes you do,” I say.

“Millie?”

“Yes?”

“What are you having for breakfast?”

“RIGHT!” I shout, “EVERYBODY OUT!”

4 thoughts on “Morning is broken

  1. Kate December 12, 2012 / 12:49 pm

    This is remarkably similar to what happens in our house every morning, except with just one little girl in the bed!

    • StuPC December 12, 2012 / 1:33 pm

      Oh, it’s *much* better with two, Kate. 😉

  2. SWBVR December 12, 2012 / 2:01 pm

    It sounds devine! I’m not even being sarcastic. Yes, I know it’s easy for me to say, easy for me who generally sleeps until about 15-20 minutes after my alarm.

    • StuPC December 12, 2012 / 2:04 pm

      If I’m lucky I’ll sleep 15-20 minutes before my alarm! 😛

Leave a Reply

