Post-birthday


I cannot for the life of me understand why I wasn’t more hungover today.

Last night, to celebrate my birthday, we went to The Hob in Forest Hill to see some comedy and drink with friends.

Before Trev’s death my birthdays were always big affairs that I made a huge fuss about and invited practically everyone I knew to celebrate with me.  Since then, as with too many things, I’ve become a bit less interested in planning a big celebration; somehow, it doesn’t really seem to matter.

Thank goodness, then, that so many good friends turned up last night, despite the snow and the cold, to make it a really great night out.  The comedy was a little disappointing, to be honest, but the company more than made up for it.  So I wanted to say a big thank you to the 20 who made it to the pub, who bought me drinks, wished me happy birthday and made me smile, more than compensating for my lacklustre organisational skills.

And thank you to my in-laws for looking after the girls so that the Lovely Melanie could come out to celebrate, too.  That made it a special night, too.

Evil snowman in Bexley
Grrr!

Today, we’ve been out in the steadily falling snow for much of the afternoon: pulling the girls around the streets on their sledge, having an epic snowball fight and building a rather evil looking snowman with the help of our neighbours (the other Bexley Carters).

It was a proper old-school snow day, and every time I looked at the girls they had huge grins on their faces and were squealing with delight.

And the hangover never did materialise.  Maybe that’s a good sign for my 41st year… 🙂

Leave a Reply

