What we are enjoying


Me, I’m currently hooked on Game of Thrones; the girls are enjoying a game called Proteus.

Game of ThronesGame of Thrones was recommended to me by some friends, but I resisted it for the longest time because, one, it’s an hour per episode and that’s a big time commitment for me, but also because two, I assumed it was another big American series, none of which have caught my imagination in recent years.

I watched a bit of Heroes, some of Battlestar Galactica, more of True Blood.  Heroes and Battlestar Galactica in particular, annoyed me with their uneven quality and the obvious need to fill a specified amount of hours in the weekly TV schedules at the expense of plot and story.

True Blood was better, but I still drifted away from it after a series and a half.

Game of Thrones, on the other hand, is some of the best drama I’ve seen in years – possibly even in decades.  Unafraid of appealing to grown-up, of showing realistic sex and deeply vicious and unpleasant violence often, capable of being funny (rather blackly funny at times), and to have characters not good or evil, nice or nasty, but shades of both at different moments – just like real people.

Ahh, seriously, go and watch it.  Don’t be put off by it being a fantasy – there is virtually no magic or monsters.  Mostly this is a gripping medieval political drama with lots of blood and breasts.  And lots of top-quality British actors, too!

The girls, on the other hand, have not been watching Game of Thrones, but playing a new computer game I bought for them called Proteus.  There are no objectives, no enemies and no puzzles, all you have to do is explore an island.  An island rendered in chunky 8-bit graphics – but rendered so well in such excellent 3D that you almost don’t notice – indeed, it’s part of the game’s charm.

The sound effects and music are both what you’d call ambient and they work with the game to make it very relaxing.  As I say, all you have to do is wander about, discover the island, the wild life, watch the sun go down and look at the stars.  It may sounds potentially dull but has a strange charm.

ProteusFour-year-old Amber did complain she was bored after ten minutes, but this morning I found she’d put it on and started playing by herself.  Big sister Millie was immediately entranced and jumped in (with Amber) this morning before school.

And as someone who likes playing fast, sometimes vicious, computer games, even I had to rouse myself from watching them this morning and remember to go to work!

Proteus is only six quid, I highly recommend giving it a try. 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

