Bye, Thatch!


As much as I find it personally distasteful to mock other peoples’ misfortune and speak ill of the dead, there’s something about the death of Margaret Thatcher (just announced an hour ago) that somehow overrides my usual feelings.

For a few moments after hearing the news I thought to myself Should I be smiling?  How would you feel if it was your mum?  Come on, Stu, you should be better than this…

But then I remembered: this is Thatcher we’re talking about, and I let myself get caught up in the flood of euphoria sweeping the nation.

Leave a Reply

