Ibiza


Ahhhhh… I find myself filled with fine thoughts and good intentions, all brought on by our gloriously relaxing week spent in the quiet resort of Es Canar in Ibiza.

Carter family in IbizaNo, seriously, I do!  A week spent lounging by the pool/sea, reading, playing, eating and occasionally exploring is remarkably therapeutic – it’s been so long since I had a holiday like this I’d almost forgotten.  Thank you so very very much to my parents for giving us this opportunity: it was a truly wonderful week and I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did. 🙂

I’ve just finished going through all my photographs and have uploaded quite a few to Flickr.  Do feel free to take a look – although, be advised, my swimming attire goes somewhat against the fashion for voluminous shorts!

Amber Carter with waterIn fact, the week was so lazy there isn’t an awful lot to report here.  The hotel was half-board, so we didn’t eat out (and thanks to the all-you-can-eat breakfast, which included bacon and American-style pancakes, I’ve probably gained at least a stone).

Actually, we did eat out one night, at a beautiful beach called Cala Benirrás.  We had planned a trip to the famous Cafe Del Mar in San Antonio, but were concerned that it might be full of drunken twats, so diverted to Cala Benirrás instead to catch the sunset and the drummers.

It was beautiful and peaceful (and devoid of twats) but unfortunately was also cloudy!  Not everywhere, mind: just the western corner of the sky.  Sigh.

Cala Benirras, IbizaNever mind.  My parents had generously agreed to look after the kids that evening so we still had some delicious seafood, got a little drunk and listened to the drummers.  I was so taken with the “hippy” atmosphere that I stripped down to my pants and went night swimming (WARNING – links to photo of wet 41-year-old man in his pants!)

The girls were perfectly happy playing in the pool all day every day, and had braids woven into their hair by a local lady.  By the end of the holiday Millie in particular looked like she lived on Ibiza, so brown and tousled was she.

Millie Carter in IbizaBut even Amber, our little English Rose, has come home with a tan (and an interesting variety of temporary tattoos, free with the local crisps).  She’s also picked up some freckles, leading me to think she’s going to look like her mother when she’s older.

I went exploring around the coast one day, when I fancied a little time to myself.  Not far, just away from the beach, where the land is surprisingly rocky and sharp.  There I found an idyllic little tidal pool and spent a blissful hour floating in the cool water being nibbled by tiny fishes.  I took my dad, brother and Millie back there the next day, but it wasn’t the same…

We also visited the “Hippy Market”, which was about as “hippy” as I am, to be honest, but still a fun morning.  Amber bought a little handbag which she then carried everywhere for the rest of the holiday; Millie got an ocarina and a plastic “diamond”.

Evening entertainment at Hotel Miami IbizaAnd finally, there was the evening entertainment: a weird mix of Chinese and African acrobats, falconry, “Crazy Kids Disco”, Irish dancing and Hi-De-Hi-style amateur productions by the entertainment staff.

It was…unusual, and always featured one of the staff impersonating a woman with two balloons stuffed down his top.  We were a bit baffled, but some people found it hilarious.

As the plane came in to land at Southampton Airport we were treated to a spectacular sunset (which made up for the minor disappointment at Cala Benirras) but by the time we reached the runway all was darkness and rain.  Good old England, eh? 😉

Still, we were tired but happy, so managed to laugh about this as we home from the station with our luggage.  A fitting end to a fabulous week away in the sun. 😀

One thought on “Ibiza

Leave a Reply

