The end of silence?


I’ve just signed a proper work contract AND been informed that the new office “is moving forward”, so my four-month sentence of Working From Home might be nearly up!

Not a moment too soon, either, as I’m going a bit mad.  It’s not the actual time spent alone that’s been getting to me, more the cumulative effects of not seeing other human beings (except my family) for days at a time.

I miss sitting on trains reading; I miss overhearing snippets of random conversation; bumping into people; seeing new posters and adverts – even simply saying “Please” and “Thank you” in shops!  I don’t mind being by myself for much of the time; I do mind being by myself all of the time.

Leave a Reply

