It’s not all good


Some very disheartening news last week: I didn’t get a job I interviewed for.

Not so bad, you might think, but this was after interviews with six different people for what seemed an absolutely fantastic job.

Yeah, that’s right – SIX interviews for ONE job.

I passed them all with flying colours, gradually climbing the corporate hierarchy, talking with recruiters, then the marketing team, followed by the marketing manager, moving up to the director of marketing and, finally, the CEO.

That interview seemed to go well – I’d studied and revised for all the interviews, but did even more work for this last step, and was pleased with my performance on the day: no stupid mistakes or mis-steps that I could see. Hell, I actually quite enjoyed my chat with the CEO!

Surely, I was beginning to hope, after so many interviews this is in the bag?

No. No, it wasn’t. The CEO unilaterally vetoed me for no reason that anyone else (least of all me) understands.

The recruiter broke the news Friday morning and, despite his encouraging words and sympathy, Friday was a really really ****ing horrible day.

What mostly got me through it was a text from the Lovely Melanie, telling me that Amber had asked to take my Bliss Award in for show and tell, amazing her class with tales of Millie’s birth and my voluntary work. When Friday all got a bit much I concentrated on that image: my youngest daughter, so proud that she wanted to tell all her friends about me. 🙂

Millie had a birthday party on Saturday, so Amber and I went out, just the two of us, to the Florence Nightingale Museum at St Thomas’ Hospital (where Millie spent some time after her birth). And that cheered me up no end, too.

Amber is learning about Florence Nightingale at school so had been asking to visit the museum for some time. It’s quite small as museums go, but an inspiring look at an ordinary woman who, through her intelligence, drive and humanity, has saved many thousands of lives over the years.

I was quite moved.

And since Saturday was such a beautiful day we mooched about the South Bank Festival of Love for a couple of hours, just enjoying the sunshine and each other’s company.

And the world seemed a much better place once more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

