Catching up


It’s annoying, writing a finger-on-the-pulse zeitgeist-hugging blog like this one, when you leave it too late to post updates.

I can’t in good conscience write about Fathers Day on Sunday when that was four days ago. All that’s left is to say “Thanks for the cards, girls, and for the chocolate. Your dad loves you. Not quite so sure about the large pair of glasses made from lolly sticks and orange cellophane, but, sure, why not?”

And our trip the same day to delightful Swanley Park, full of paddling pool and playground and boating lake and miniature railway – again, too late. It being Fathers Day gave me the right to snooze in the sun all afternoon – which you would think would give me the energy to blog about it, right?

Nope. I took the girls out on a pedallo and the buggers left me to do all the pedalling! By the time we got home and ate the beef stew and cheesecake the Lovely Melanie had prepared I was quite done in.

Actually, quite a lot of the weekend was spent writing – for jobs. I was asked to complete some tests for jobs I had applied and interviewed for. I gave them my best shot (which is pretty damn best-est, all things considered!) but have had no word back yet. Fingers crossed, eh?

Tonight I’m off to a lecture about “The UFO Phenomenon” by the Fortean Society with my high-flying friend Dr Mayer. It’s not about UFOs and aliens so much as the explosion of sightings and interest in UFOs towards the end of the 20th century. More anthropological than astronomical, I hope.

And, of course, this weekend sees the beginning of celebrations for Millie’s tenth birthday. Saturday is the superhero-themed family party, which should be fun. I’ve refused to divulge my outfit and the Lovely Melanie is going mad trying to guess it.

As a long-time superhero geek I gave my costume a lot of thought to ensure no one else would come as the same character. So, if anyone does come as the same character I will be astonished!

Millie’s actual birthday isn’t till Tuesday – strange to think that ten years ago the Lovely Melanie was in hospital hardly daring to move in case she went into labour. Her waters broke after just 24 weeks of being pregnant but she spent a further two and a half weeks at Lewisham Hospital before Millie was born by C-section.

If you don’t already know the story, catch up with The (true) Story of Millie Harriet Carter.

Leave a Reply

